Brave

Five Minute Friday: Brave

(When I first heard this week’s word, the following direction is where my mind started go.  I went back and forth with myself about whether or not to write it out, and obviously I decided to go with it.  I really don’t want to use my blog as a place to rant, and I hope that the following doesn’t sound angry.  It’s not angry — but I want to present a side that’s not often seen.  So please take the following as such…thank you.)

GO

When people find out that both my babies were born at home, and that any future children we hope to have at home, the common reaction is: “Wow!  You’re brave!”  And often it’s followed by, “I could never do that.  I would want to be in a hospital in case anything happened.”

I can respect that, really.  A woman should birth wherever she is most comfortable and if that’s a hospital for you, then great.  However, even if it’s not what someone wants to portray, the attitude that comes across from that particular (common) comment is sometimes hard to deal with.  And that attitude is: you’re choosing to put your baby at risk, just so that you can be “brave”, etc.

Actually, that isn’t the case.  We choose to have our babies at home because, in our particular situation, my husband and I feel like it’s best for ALL of us.  Including the baby.  And it’s not something we’re blindly going into with no idea of the complications that can arise.  Our firstborn, Cedar, had several complications because he was born four weeks early, but our very competent midwife dealt with them and Cedar is now a healthy little boy.  Yes, we realize that not all complications turn out so well, but please trust that we’ve weighed all that and are not making this decision out of some macho complex.

Thank you.

STOP

3 Comments

  1. Fenny said,

    March 16, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    Well, just so you know, in the Netherlands it is quite common for baby’s to be born home. With a good midwife and GP, as well as good emergency care if needed it’s a normal ocurnece here, unless there is a serious medical need. Besides, each is free to decide what s/he wants, so I encourage you not to defend yourself but live happily with the decisions you have made.
    Blessings!

  2. Katy said,

    March 29, 2012 at 4:18 am

    I just found your blog and LOVE IT! Our first child, a boy, is due within the next two weeks and we opted early on for a at home waterbirth (Lord willing) and I am SO at peace about it and honestly super excited to see what God does!! :) So thanks for this encouragment! We have a christian midwife who absolutely LOVES the Lord and just like you and your husband we felt this was what God had for OUR family.

    Blessings! :)

  3. Emily said,

    April 24, 2012 at 7:53 am

    strikes a note…..my first birth (at home) was also very dramatic (33 hours long!) with some complications and I’ve gotten similar reactions…..although the attitude that comes across to me is more of a ‘you must just like being in pain for some reason’ (you know, the ‘I couldn’t do that, I’ve gotta have my epidural!’ comments!).

    My precious, healthy little girl is about a month older than your Genoa. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

