Simple Essential Oils – Part One: Introduction

I’ve shared before about my slow journey into using natural remedies.  While doing things the natural way has always been something I’ve preferred, for a long time I was intimidated and paralyzed by the sheer amount of information out there. A couple years ago I finally realized that I just needed to get over my fear, start with the little knowledge I had, and build from there. One of the areas I decided to explore was essential oils.

In this busy season of my life, I wanted to focus on remedies that didn’t require a lot of extensive prep on my part.  I know that, for me, I would be more likely not to use a remedy if I had to do a lot with it to get it ready.  I mean, when you’re not feeling well, you don’t really want to spend a lot of time fussing around…you just want relief.  So, essential oils fit the bill perfectly.  Also, due to the fact they’re so concentrated, having so many possibilities in just a few little bottles really appealed to my minimalistic side.

After talking it over with Aaron, I ordered some essential oils from Beeyoutiful, a natural health and remedies company that I trust and buy quite a few things from (like Miracle Salve, which we use daily on pretty much everything!).  Along with my order from Beeyoutiful, I also bought The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy by Valerie Ann Worwood.

And so it began.  Since then, my few bottles of essential oils have expanded to a small collection that I use regularly in many different ways.  I still feel very much like a beginner in learning about all of this and am always trying learn more.  But even with my limited knowledge, I have seen how beneficial and versatile even a few oils are and am so thankful for this natural “medicine” that the Lord has provided for us.  Many of my friends have asked me about what I’ve learned on this subject over the past couple years and I decided the easiest way to share it all would be through a blog series.  So here we are!

However, as I share in this series what I’ve learned, please remember: I am not a licensed health professional and anything I say is not intended to diagnose or treat any disease.  I am just a mama sharing what has worked for her.  As with anything, please do your own research.

Coming tomorrow: my thoughts and what I’ve learned regarding the different brands of essential oils available and their quality.

1 Comment

  1. Samantha said,

    December 1, 2012 at 9:51 am

    A friend (whom you know ;) ) told me about the Miracle Salve and “Beeyoutiful”. I have a catalog now and am thinking I might have to order from them in 2013. I’m excited to read and learn more about essential oils through your blog series. We’ve used some on occasion but they aren’t something I know a lot about or am super comfortable with.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

