September ramblings

I keep thinking to myself that I’ve just blogged a couple days ago, but when I look at actual dates, I realise that it’s been over two weeks since my last post…this month has just flown by!   September has been the month of guests, guests and more guests.  Due to living in a 28-foot-long travel trailer last year, our hospitality was much hindered and so we’ve been greatly enjoying the ability to “have people over” now.  This morning, as I (with much help from my amazing husband due to my uneasy tummy) covered egg-soaked bread with cheese, sausage, tomatoes and mushrooms, we joked that I must be a “real hostess” now since I’m making strata for breakfast.  My mother-in-law is a wonderful hostess (and I know it full well from living in their house for several months before Aaron and I were married) and she often makes strata for guests’ morning repast…so therefore I decided that must be the pass into “real” hostess-dom.

With all that’s been going on during the past several weeks, I’ve been so incredibly thankful that (so far), my morning sickness has not been nearly as severe as it was when I was pregnant with Cedar.  I’ve had some morning or afternoon or evening queasiness, and the thought of certain random foods turns my stomach…but I haven’t even thrown up yet!  I know that’s not exactly typical blog news, but considering how things were with Cedar, that’s big for me.  Tomorrow I’ll be nine weeks along…already over a fifth of the way there!  Amazing…  It’s also very different being pregnant the second time around…especially this early in the pregnany (i.e. before you have a huge belly to remind you), I often find myself forgetting that I’m pregnant since I’m busy with Cedar instead of lying in bed, dreaming about my coming little one.  I still definitely do dream, but there’s not nearly as much time for it as there was with Cedar.  And that’s fine…I love this season of my life!

Tomorrow marks a year since we left for our trip to the UK…it’s crazy to think it’s already been that long!  Some of my most beautiful memories are from that trip and in remembering, I’ve found myself missing England and Ireland much in the last several weeks.  I had dreamed for years of seeing the hills of England and the cliffs of Ireland, and to be able to experience it all with my husband was more incredible than I had ever dreamed.  I can’t even begin to find the words to describe it all, but my fellow England-loving friend, Lanier, just posted a beautiful piece about her time there last year and I could relate to every word.  Lanier and her husband, Philip, were in England at the  same time Aaron and I were, and we were able to meet (more times than originally planned!) and get to know them…it was such a joy!  I hope to one day be able to go back and show my children the beauties of the islands, but we’ll see what the Lord decides to do…

9 thoughts on “September ramblings

  1. I was just thinking of you this morning and praying that your morningsickness wasn’t keeping you from blogging! Glad to know it’s been company instead. 🙂 I’ve heard that nursing might help keep morningsickness at bay?

    Anyway, so glad to hear you’re hanging in there. Take care!

    1. Awww…thank you, Gretchen….for the thoughts and prayers! I too am very thankful that it’s mostly been company that’s kept me from blogging… 🙂 And I don’t know if it’s the nursing that’s keeping the morning sickness down…I’ve heard things from both sides (i.e. nursing makes it worse and nursing makes it better) so I’m not sure. All in all, I think it’s just the Lord’s grace to me… 🙂

      I hope your family is doing well and recovering from your bout of sickness…I’ll be praying you all completely recover quickly!

  2. Glad your sickness is better this time around! Would you be willing to share your non-recipe (since I’m guessing you don’t actually use exact instructions ;-D) for strata? You have me intrigued now!

  3. So good to hear from you! 🙂
    We were just talking about you at the Farmer’s Market on Tuesday with Megan C. 🙂 Don’t worry, it was all good talk! She told us that you were doing well and not feeling too sick this time around so we were saying how wonderful that was!
    It was fun hearing about all the fun she had down there at your house and the T’s.

    Funny thing- I just finished reading Lanier’s blog post before coming over to your site vie Google Reader.
    Someday, I long to see Ireland too….

  4. It is that time of year to ponder and remember. Love you sweet friend! I am so glad you are feeling well and enjoying your little family.

Leave a Reply

