From the archives: Where Edmund was looking

originally posted September 21st, 2008

“‘You have a traitor there, Aslan,’ said the Witch. Of course everyone present knew that she meant Edmund. But Edmund had got past thinking of himself after all that he’d been through and after the talk he’d had that morning. He just went on looking at Aslan. It didn’t seem to matter what the Witch said.”
~C.S. Lewis; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

I’m guessing that many of the readers here have read The Chronicles of Narnia and therefore know the context of this quote. The White Witch comes to demand Edmund’s life from Aslan. As stated, Edmund is a traitor and as such, by rights, his blood belongs to the Witch. The night before the Witch’s audience with Aslan, Edmund had been rescued from almost being murdered by the Witch, and that morning had a conversation with Aslan that “no one ever heard…[but] Edmund never forgot”.

When I first really read the above quote, I was just dumbfounded by the parallels between what Edmund did and what I often fail to do. I sin…again and again and again…and I beat myself up for it, basically not accepting grace. I listen to the lies…and I also listen to what would be the truth if I didn’t have Jesus’ righteousness covering me.  Yes, I am a traitor, of the worst kind, but that sin, and all the other ones as well, has been washed away and I am clean.  But when I listen to “the Witch”, it takes my eyes off of Jesus and what He has done for me.  However, if I keep looking to Him and not thinking of myself anymore, then it doesn’t really matter what “the Witch” says…I know what Jesus has said…and that’s enough.

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” ~1 John 1:9

2 thoughts on “From the archives: Where Edmund was looking

  1. Hi Jessica,

    Yes, I too am learning to listen and look to Him and let the witch’s voice fade to the background where she belongs!

    Aimee, NZ 🙂

  2. This was such a blessing! Just last Friday I was just so upset because I fail my Saviour time and time again. I realize I’m going to sin, but I just felt as though I wasn’t worth His time. I knew I was wrong before I did this one thing, but yet, I did it anyways…more than once. Then that Friday night I went to hear a dear preacher, and his message was titled “Too Much Lamb”, and one of the things he preached on for a while was “too much lamb for your failure”! I just had to kneel down in the pew and talk to my Saviour! There is too much lamb for my failure! He can still use me, He still loves me, and He still wants me to make myself usable. Reading this reminded me of that message. {I actually watched one of the movies this morning, and they never fail to remind me of the one who saved my soul!}

    Thank you for sharing!

    -Many Smiles!

Leave a Reply

