Pretty much the best roast chicken ever

Growing up, we hardly ever had roast chicken.  According to my mom, that’s because she grew up on “the real thing” (i.e. their own chickens which they raised and butchered themselves) and the stuff in the store just didn’t cut it.  As such, before I was married, I had never roasted a chicken by myself.  When I finally did, it was quite the big deal to me and I referred to it as “roast-chicken-like-a-real-wife” since roasting a chicken seemed like such a domestic, wifely thing to do.  And since then, we have roast chicken semi-occasionally* and I like to experiment with different ways of flavouring it.  Aaron and I agreed that the one we had last night was definitely the best yet (and Cedar thought it was good too).  And it was insanely simple, so I thought I’d share.

Garlic and Lemon Roast Chicken

Peel and press a head of garlic into a good amount of softened butter.  And several very generous pinches of Vignalta Herbed Salt. Mix thoroughly.  Rub all over raw chicken, making sure to get as much as possible under the skin and inside the cavity. (Yes, it will be slimy and gross and the salt and garlic will probably sting your hands, but it’s totally worth it!)  Slice several lemons in half and stuff inside the cavity with cut edges facing the chicken.  If possible, try to close the cavity (I usually do this with a toothpick or two kind of threaded through the edges of the skin…if that makes sense).  Roast at 350ish (be careful not to burn the garlic), turning the chicken every 20 minutes or so until done.  Let sit for five to ten minutes before carving.  Make sure to drizzle the juices over the cut meat…mmmm!

*Since I’ve left home, my parents have found a source for pastured Hutterite chickens, and they usually bring us down several whenever they come to visit.  Yes, I’m spoiled.

3 thoughts on “Pretty much the best roast chicken ever

Leave a Reply

