Tuscany spread

Yesterday afternoon I threw together this dip to bring to a gathering.  Despite some apprehension on my part as to whether or not it would turn out (“Balsamic vinegar and cream cheese…what am I thinking?!”), it was actually quite yummy and I had several requests for the recipe.  I thought I would share it here also, in case any of you want to try it, and also as an effort to help me remember what exactly I did…

Tuscany Spread (name coined by my husband)

Cut the bottoms off a head of garlic and roast at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes or so (you may have to  adjust the roasting time according to the size of the garlic cloves…in the end you want them to be just soft, but not too browned).  Cool and remove from skins.  Place garlic, ten or so sun-dried tomatoes (I used the kind not packed in oil, but I would think that the other kind would work too), some olive oil and balsamic vinegar in a food processor and chop until you have an even paste.  Add a package of cream cheese and some milk and process until well-blended.  (I have a small food processor so at this point I had put the dip in a bowl to finish mixing in the other ingredients, but if you have a larger one, you could probably do it all in the processor.)  Mix in a cup plus of sour cream.  Season generously with dried parsley, dried basil, dried oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper and lots of salt.  Finely grate about a cup or so of asiago cheese and mix in well.  Refrigerate for several hours to let the flavours meld and intensify.  Serve with crackers and enjoy!

One thought on “Tuscany spread

Leave a Reply

