What comes of throwing things in a skillet

Last night I was going to make beef and broccoli stir-fry for supper.  The meat was already thawed (a novelty for me since I usually decide that afternoon what I’m making for supper and therefore scramble to get the meat unthawed)  and I knew I had a package of broccoli in the freezer.  However, after cutting the meat up, I opened the package of broccoli and discovered that it had gone bad…I guess it unthawed too much during our week-long power outage.  Hmmm…what to add to the stir-fry now?  I decided on pineapple chunks and garlic…and it was amazing!  Definitely something I want to make again…so I better record the recipe so I can remember what to do.

Sesame-Garlic Stir-fry with Pineapple

Cut beef into small bite-size chunks and place in wok or large cast-iron skillet.  Peel and roughly chop a head of garlic and add.  Douse liberally with toasted sesame oil and start sauteing over medium-high heat.  Once the meat has mostly browned, season liberally with soy sauce.  Sprinkle on a little ground ginger, some sesame seeds and about four or five grinds of pepper.  Cook several minutes more. Drain a can of pineapple chunks (which our Trader Joe’s just started carrying…YAY!), reserving the juice.  When the meat is almost done, add the pineapple and let cook a minute or two longer.  Drink most of the pineapple juice and then dissolve a teaspoon or two of cornstarch in the final dregs and mix thoroughly.  Drizzle this over the finished stir-fry and stir a couple times before turning off the heat.  Let sit several minutes before serving and then give it all a final stir.  Serve over basmati rice.

3 thoughts on “What comes of throwing things in a skillet

Leave a Reply

