Joining the party

The Peaceful Housewife

Up until a couple days ago, I never heard of the The Peaceful Housewife blog, but then several of my bloggy friends started joining in on her Natural Parenting Blog Party.  It looked like fun…so I decided to join too (though a little late)!  There were several questions to answer for the first day…a kind of “getting to know” you bit…and even though it’s not the first day anymore, I figured I would answer them anyway…

1. How many children do you have, and how old are they?

Currently I have one son, Cedar, who is 16 months old, and another little one due to be born any day now!

2. Do you have a partner, or are you a single parent?

I have an amazing husband, Aaron, of just over two years…he’s a great daddy too.

3. What are your “hot button” parenting issues?

If there’s anything that I’ve learned so far in my relatively brief time as a parent, it’s that hardly any parenting issues are as cut-and-dried as I used to think. So many things factor into decisions parents make and I don’t think that everyone has to parent the same way that I do.  That said, my biggest “hot button” issue would be when parents don’t really think about or question the ways that they parent, but instead just go with whatever everyone else is doing, accepting blindly what the medical establishment says, etc.  Just because something is popular and everyone else is doing it doesn’t make it the best decision for your child and your family.

As for specific issues, I’m a very passionate person and therefore there are a lot “issues” that I feel passionately about.  In the natural parenting realm, some of these would be breastfeeding, natural and/or home birth, vaccines, babywearing, cloth diapering and feeding your child real food.

4. Have you made any parenting choices that you didn’t think you would make before you were a parent, i.e. cloth diapering a child when you had previously thought it was disgusting?

Before Cedar was born, Aaron and I had quite a few discussions about how we would parent and I thought that I would be a lot stricter than I am now.  God is slowly teaching the delicate balance between grace and discipline.

I also had never considered tandem nursing (I don’t think I even knew what it was a couple years ago), but now that’s the plan once our new little one gets here!

5. Is there one book or person in particular that’s heavily influenced your parenting choices?

Not one person or book specifically.  My parents, obviously…I often call my mom when I’m unsure of how to handle a situation or to find out what she thinks about an issue.  Different books have influenced different parts of my parenting: Real Food for Mother and Baby by Nina Planck greatly influenced the way I view nutrition during pregnancy, nursing and the toddler years…it’s one that I think every mother should read!

6. If you had to describe each of your children using only one word, what word would you use?

Cedar: strong (in every aspect – personality, will, physically)

7. Is there one parenting decision you regret more than other and wish you could change?

So far there hasn’t been any specific parenting decisions that we regret, but we haven’t been parents that long.  Because he was four weeks early, after he was born (at home), Cedar spent four days in the NICU, and I wish we could be have held him more, etc. during that time, but it wasn’t really our decision then, circumstances dictated it.  As such, I try not to regret that since I know that the Lord is working all that together for good and He has and will continue to redeem that lost time.

8. Is there an area of your parenting that you wish you were better at?

I wish I was better at spending more specific one-on-one time with Cedar, doing something he enjoys.  I’ve been making an effort to try and do that specifically, but I could always do better.

9. Is there one particular food or type of food that you could eat every day?

Dark chocolate, or garlic, or butter…oh wait, I do usually eat those every day.

10. Vanilla ice cream or chocolate?

Definitely chocolate…preferably dark chocolate…preferably Trader Joe’s Ultra Chocolate ice cream (or Green & Black’s).

11. What’s your guilty pleasure?

Potato chips (natural ones though!).

12. If you could be part of any television show, what show would it be?

I don’t really watch TV, but I have seen several episodes of Iron Chef America and that’s always looked like a fun show to be a part of.

3 thoughts on “Joining the party

  1. You joined!! YAY! I love how you describe Cedar. Obviously, I don’t know him, but it sounds like him. And lol on the dark chocolate, garlic and butter! I think I love them all so much that I’d have all 3 together! 🙂

  2. Hello from the blog party (I was late too! later than you!). I love your son’s name. My twin sons just got home from spending their first 5 weeks in the NICU so I know what you mean about not starting off with attachment behaviors like you’d prefer. My breastfeeding is still up and down as a result of prematurity and the NICU rules. Nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

