Birthday and birth day gifts

456. Mushroom, chicken and rice casserole.

457. Our Human Planet DVDs coming a day early.

458. Birthday cards.

459. Cedar graduating to the next soft shoe size.

460. Watching the first Human Planet episode while soaking in the bathtub with Aaron sitting on the bathroom floor.

461. Yet again having to learn to trust the good Father after another day full of contractions that just petered out.

462. Sunshine on my birthday.

463. Cedar’s fascination with dust motes dancing in the sunlight.

464. My mother-in-law picking up groceries for me.

465. Going out for pizzaΒ  for my birthday lunch.

466. A little pre-dinner walk in lovely weather.

467. A yummy (and beautiful) swarma dinner from Aaron’s family.

468. Birthday cookies made by my love.

469. Watching Babies with Cedar.

470. Fig Newmans.

471. Gracious midwives who don’t mind two early mornings in a row.

472. Meals from and at Aaron’s parent’s house.

473. An amazing husband who uncomplainingly juggled filling the birthing pool, calming Cedar and rubbing my back during contractions.

474. Finding that I was 9 cm dilated when I thought I was still a 3 or 4.

475. Discovering yet again that when you thought you couldn’t handle the pain anymore, that’s when you’re almost there.

476. A decisive husband and midwives who made me get in the pool when I was so out of it that I wasn’t sure.

477. Only twelve minutes of pushing.

478. The bag of waters being intact until about a minute before the birth.

479. Feeling the head finally come out.

480. Our precious little Genoa Leanne.

481. The moment of “It’s a girl!”.

482. Little breaths.

483. The peacefulness of seeing that the baby is alright.

484. Sitting in my bed, with my husband beside me, holding my little girl.

485. Cedar meeting his little sister for the first time.

486. Genoa nursing for about a half hour after her birth.

487. The peace and quiet after everyone left and we all slept.

488. “Popsicle pads”.

489. Pink and flowered baby clothes.

490. Perfect little ears.

491. The scent of a new head.

492. Grace to get through the fears of the first night.

493. What an amazing nurser Genoa is.

494. Close friends bringing Papa Murphy’s…continuing the postpartum tradition.

495. Everything looking good at the three-day midwife appointment.

496. Being past the critical point for the possibility of a Group B Strep infection.

497. No jaundice.

498. A husband who supposedly just went to the store for on-sale mangoes and came back with all sorts of food I like and a miniature red rosebush.

499. The same amazing husband who took care of all of us for my midwife-instated three-day bed-rest.

500. My wonderful little family of four.

11 thoughts on “Birthday and birth day gifts

  1. Woohoo for #496!!!! πŸ˜€ I like #498 too, πŸ™‚ so sweet! And I really like the new tradition. πŸ˜‰

  2. Your post made me want to cry. I am ready for baby number two now:)I hope I can have that one naturally.

  3. This might just be my favorite list of yours so far!! πŸ™‚
    I’m so glad that the birth went so well and only 12 minutes of pushing!! Praise Jesus for your husband and midwives! Sounds like little Genoa is healthy and a good eater too. So happy for you all. And so much to be thankful for!

  4. Hooray for finding out you’re a 9 when you think you’re a 3 or 4! I’ll be praying for you as you recover (and after πŸ™‚ ).

  5. Finally got to read this! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear about everything! Sounds like the birth went so well! πŸ™‚

  6. Everyone keeps talking about the β€œBabies” DVD. Is it the one directed by Thomas Balmes? If so, I’m putting it on hold at my library. πŸ™‚

    1. Yes, it is. I’ve seen it three or four times now (we stream it from my parents’ Netflix account :P) and I love it each time! It’s so fascinating…especially if you have littles. Babies are definitely the same the world over…

Leave a Reply

