The riches in being a mommy to two

I don’t what it is about having more than one child, but now that I have two kids, I feel so much more like a mama than when it was just Cedar.  Not that I didn’t feel like his mommy before Genoa was born, and not that women who only have one child are any less of a mother than those with more, but for me, something changed.  Maybe it’s the fact that I now have a toddler I can interact with more (and who calls me “mama”!) and I’m not just a woman taking care of a baby.  It’s probably the fact that it’s finally sinking in now…almost eighteen months after I first gave birth, I’m now finally realizing that I’m a mom!  (Very probable since I sometimes still can’t believe that I’m actually married and it’s been over two years since that happened!)

Whatever it is…I love it!  I’m absolutely loving being a mommy to two.  It definitely has its hard times…like when both kids are crying at once and you only can do so much, or when you feel like all you do all day is nurse and change diapers (because yes, Cedar is still nursing and still in diapers…though we’re hoping to work on the latter soon).  But the joys definitely outweigh the hard times.  I love being able to enjoy that milky scent of infant and have Genoa fall asleep on my chest…and at the same time being able to watch Cedar learn to walk and talk and experience so many new things.  I feel so rich…and I can imagine the riches only get deeper as you have more children.

Inspired by another mommy friend, I just finished re-reading Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss.  The last time I had read it, I was very single and while I thought it was a good book, I didn’t relate to it much.  Now, being married and having two little ones, I was so encouraged by it…definitely a book that I’ll have to make into regular re-reading in this time of my life.  In it I found several very good quotes that related to the riches of being a mother to more than one child…

[After the birth of her second child] “How rich I felt when I heard Ernest’s [her husband] voice, as he replied to a question asked at the door, proclaim, ‘Mother and children all well.’  To think that we who thought ourselves rich before are made so much richer now!”

“Here is a sweet, fragrant mouth to kiss; here are two more feet to make music with their pattering about my nursery. Here is a soul to train for God; and the body in which it dwells is worthy all it will cost, since it is the abode of a kingly tenant. I may see less of friends, but I have gained one dearer than them all, to whom, while I minister in Christ’s name, I make a willing sacrifice of what little leisure for my own recreation my other darlings have left me. Yes, my precious baby, you are welcome to your mother’s heart, welcome to her time, her strength, her health, her tenderest cares, to her lifelong prayers!  Oh, how rich I am, how truly, how wonderously blest!”

2 thoughts on “The riches in being a mommy to two

  1. Aw. I always loved those two quotes from Stepping Heavenward too :-). And I love that now that we have FOUR people in our family, we actually make a sort of circle around the table. I don’t know, but 4 people holding hands seems more of a group than just 3 :-). It’s a little thing, but it’s one of the things I’ve been treasuring with having 2 kiddos. And I’m with you. . . it’s so much fun to have a toddler to interact with and a baby at the same time!

Leave a Reply

