The one thing I know

It had been quite the morning. I was frustrated with my kids, I wasn’t very nice to my husband.  I already had a bad attitude and my guilt from being unloving to those I love best wasn’t helping it at all.  I had music playing in the background while I went about the rest of my morning, hoping that would help me to feel better.  My iTunes was on shuffle and all of a sudden, the Sara Groves’ song “The One Thing I Know” came on.  I absentmindedly sang along and then was brought up short when I realized what I was singing.

This is the one thing I know
You said You won’t let me go
You said You won’t let me go
You’ve done a good work in me
And You won’t quit till I’m free

This brought to mind Philippians 1:6: “...being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.”  Yes, I have bad days and I sin and unfortunately sometimes even hurt those I love dearly, but…  My Father is doing a good work in me, and He won’t stop.  And even if I can’t always see the results of the good work, I know they’re there, somewhere, because He promised. “But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.” (2 Corinthians 3:18)

3 thoughts on “The one thing I know

  1. And I think that’s so important to remember when viewing others too… God is working in them and it may not always be apparent. And He is working in me and it may not always be completely visible either. I am so thankful that He never gives up on us!!

Leave a Reply

