Carmelized onions make anything better

Yesterday we had some friends passing through the area and they were going to stop by for lunch.  I wanted to make a pasta salad, but my options were somewhat limited since Aaron doesn’t really like creamy-type pasta salads (I’m working on him though!) and we had just finished off some quinoa salad (made just like my orzo salad, but substituting quinoa for the orzo) so that meant that an oil-and-vinegar dressed salad was out too.  So, I ended up throwing together what I had that sounded good and…it turned out yummy!

Carmelized Onion and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta Salad

Cook a pound of pasta until done; drain, and pour into a large bowl.  Roughly slice several purple onions and several yellow onions and place in a skillet with about two-thirds of a stick of butter.  Cook on low heat, stirring occasionally, until onions are very browned (about 20 minutes?).  Salt generously, remove from pan and pour over pasta. Without cleaning, return skillet to stove and add the remaining third of a stick of butter.  When butter is melted add a small head of garlic, several grilled chicken breasts, and a good amount of oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, all roughly chopped.  Let cook for several minutes, until garlic is starting to golden and chicken is heated through. Remove from heat and add a little bit of balsamic vinegar.  Stir until it finishes bubbling and then pour into pasta bowl.  To the pasta, add lots of fresh Sungold cherry tomatoes, cut in half, and lots of fresh basil, roughly chopped.  Also add some hard, pungent cheese, roughly grated (I was out so I used some Romano that I got from my mother-in-law, but I would have normally used Asiago or Parmesan).  Toss everything together until well-mixed.  Salt and pepper according to taste.  Serve at room temperature and enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Carmelized onions make anything better

    1. Thank you, thank you…that’s one of my specialties! 🙂 Seriously though, there’s usually at least a stick of butter (often more) in any meal (lunches don’t count) I make. Do you think that’s too much?

Leave a Reply

