The idol on the bathroom counter

If you ever come to visit us, and use our bathroom, you’ll notice that we have two different soap dispensers next to the sink.  One contains Dr. Bronner’s lavender liquid soap, and the other, antibacterial SoftSoap. A little strange to have two, but those soap dispensers actually represent a big victory for me spiritually.  Let me explain…

After I got married, one of the many things I was very excited about was having my own house and keeping it the way I wanted to.  Between living in my parent’s house to regularly cleaning for several different families to working as a mother’s helper in two different places to living with my in-laws for awhile before getting married…I’d experienced my share of different households.  And in all of those, I saw things I liked and things I didn’t like.  And I came away with very decided opinions (and much anticipation) as to how I was going to run my own household.

One of the big things I wanted was to go all-natural in regard to cleaners, soaps, etc.  I was able to accomplish that pretty easily with cleaners (something that I’ve become even more adamant about now that I have littles).  With hand soap, we started out just using Dr. Bronner’s lavender liquid soap and I thought it was great.  However, my husband really likes SoftSoap and didn’t like Dr. Bronner’s as hand soap.  So he asked if I would mind if we got some antibacterial SoftSoap.  Of course, I said that would be fine, but inwardly a battle raged.  SoftSoap?!  Tops on the list of Triclosan criminals that to me epitomized the conventional way of cleaning  I wanted so badly to get away from. (Triclosan is the substance that kills germs in antibacterial soaps, lotions, etc. that, in short, is not very good for you.)  I felt like it would contaminate my perfect little “all-natural” home. Et cetera, et cetera.

But then I realized…I was being ridiculous (shocker!).  I mean, it’s soap!!  Yes, Triclosan isn’t a good thing to have much contact with, but so are many, many other things that we deal with every day.  Having antibacterial hand soap in our bathroom would not kill anyone, that’s for sure.  And yes, it supposedly “messes up” my perfect little all-natural-ness, but that’s a good thing.  Going green was obviously becoming an idol to me and so it actually needed to be messed up.  My pride over being so natural could end up hurting myself and my family much more than any amount of chemicals ever would.

So I calmed down and let go of it.  We compromised and he let me keep the dispenser of Dr. Bronner’s at the sink too (partly because, at the time, I was in the throes of morning sickness with Cedar, and the smell of SoftSoap [and a billion other things!] made me nauseous).  And every single time I fill our Mason jar dispenser with that antibacterial soap, or when I put another double package of it next to the quinoa in our Costco cart, I’m reminded again not to let my crunchiness become an idol or a source of pride.  While it’s good a thing to strive to care for my family in a natural way, idolatry and pride are much nastier “chemicals” by far.

5 thoughts on “The idol on the bathroom counter

  1. Ohhh, I so know how this is! My Hubby is anti-crunchy on a few things Can you imagine he doesn’t like my whole grain frozen waffles, but prefers the “plain” ones? 😉 And he also prefers a bar of Irish Spring to a nice natural goat milk soap. But thankfully he eats the quinoa with little complaint. 😉

    When it comes to doing what’s best for your family, respecing the Man is top priority. Triclosan loving, or no. Great post!

  2. I can relate to this post somewhat as their are differing opinions/preferences in our household on some “crunchy”/non crunchy items. 🙂 I guess, after awhile we’ve found out what works to keep us all happy/good relationship and that some of those things don’t really matter that much in the long run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

