Creamy fall goodness

I first came across the idea of clafoutis on some random blog a couple years ago and immediately embraced them.  A basic oven custard of eggs, cream and fruit. I mean seriously, eggs and cream…what’s not to like?  They are probably one of the simplest real food desserts to make, and with hardly any sweetener and all that protein, in my mind  they top out the list of “sweets” that should be made regularly.  The perfect pick-me-up for a nursing mama, full of good fat to help enrich your milk supply.  So yeah, can you tell I like them?!  I’ve experimented with them quite a bit over the last couple years and had several winners.  But until last night I had never even thought of making a pumpkin one…which is crazy since they have the same basic ingredients as pumpkin pie filling.  Duh!  And oh. my. word.  I cannot believe I waited this long to try this variation.  So yummy!  Better than pumpkin pie, in my opinion, and since I love pumpkin pie, that’s saying a lot.  Plus you don’t have to fiddle with a crust, which is always a good thing in my book since I hate making pie crust.  Alright…I’ll quit gushing and post the recipe…

Pumpkin Clafouti

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together about a cup of cream, five eggs, a good bit of vanilla, a small handful of brown sugar, about a cup or so of pumpkin puree, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Add several handfuls of flour and whisk thoroughly. Pour into a pie pan and bake at 350 degrees until the center is set (about an hour).  Allow to cool some before eating.  The flavor does improve when refrigerated and eaten the next day, if you can wait that long.

2 thoughts on “Creamy fall goodness

Leave a Reply

