Roar

I have much to do this afternoon, but now that the babies are sleeping, I’m sitting down for a bit with my water and homemade dark chocolate truffle and joining those who just write for five minutes.

Five Minute Friday: Roar

GO

Wrong will be right, when Aslan comes in sight,
At the sound of his roar, sorrows will be no more,
When he bares his teeth, winter meets its death,
And when he shakes his mane, we shall have spring again.
~C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Aslan. Though I didn’t fully learn to love him until I was past twenty, I knew who he was when I was young.  And I thrilled to the line in an old Michelle Tumes’ song: “I love an untame lion, he’s broken every chain”.

Untame.  Because, as Mr. Beaver tells Lucy, “Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe.  But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”

He isn’t safe, but He’s good.  And what does that mean for me?  I believe in my Father’s goodness and it’s something I have to remind myself of when things get hard. But to couple that with not being safe…that’s a scary thought.  That means that something that is for my good, because He is good, could feel unsafe to me.  It will probably be, as the cliche says, “out of my comfort zone”.  And as much as I like to think that I’m one of those people who are able to handle unknown situations (what with traveling the world and all), I like my safe little spot, thank you very much.

But I want to get past that.  I want to be comfortable and content even in situations that seem totally beyond anything that seem safe and comfortable to me.  Because while my God isn’t safe, I know He’s good.

STOP

 

2 thoughts on “Roar

Leave a Reply

