Confessions of a weary mama

Before I got married, I thought parenting would probably be pretty easy.  I had taken care of kids my whole life, babysat a lot, both casually and professionally (for a childcare agency).  I was a live-in mother’s helper for two different families.  If there’s was anything I knew, it was how to take care of kids.  Parenting can’t be that much different, right?!  It wasn’t far into the journey of parenting that I realized that the earlier me had no idea what she was talking about!

There are quite a few things in parenting that took me by surprise, but the biggest one was probably the constancy.  There are now little people totally dependent on you all. the. time.  Around the clock, every day. No weekends (at least the sleep-in lazy kind). No days off.  And I know this is how it should be, and most of the time I love taking care of my little people, but it can be wearying.  Especially during needy days (and weeks and months) when you don’t even get a break at night due to whatever.

I’ve heard different opinions about “me-time” for moms.  Some say that it’s totally necessary and the mom’s “right” and that she should regularly schedule it into her life.  Others say that it’s unnecessary and that the mom should find her fulfillment in her job as a wife and mom.  All I know is…it’s very nice.  This Saturday is a local library’s book sale, and Aaron will be home so he offered to watch the kids for an hour or two so I can go to it all by myself.  He even told me to buy myself a coffee to help with the leisurely browsing (yes, I know I have an amazing husband!).  And I’m really looking forward to it.  And I know that I’ll come back home to my little blessings, refreshed and revived.  Because sometimes I just need a little break.

Don’t get me wrong…I love my life and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  But I’m just being real.  It’s been a hard couple of months what with sickness and teething and hard toddler phases and Aaron working long.  And so little breaks are much appreciated.  They are just part of the always grace that gets me through each day.

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a weary mama

  1. Good for you (and your husband 🙂
    It was the same for me, I thought I knew all there was to know about babies. But I never knew just how fatiguing it is! A baby isn’t reasonable and doesn’t sleep longer just because you need it or because you expect him too 🙂
    I do love the little breaks, too. I don’ t plan them, but I am always so grateful when they come around, and to the people that make them possible, like my husband, mom, sisters… Hope you had a good time, and it was nice to read about someone who goes through the same joyful struggles of being a mom 🙂

  2. I just found your blog today and have read several posts and it’s nice to hear from another weary mama. I also have two kids (3 years and 16 months) and there are days when my husband gets home from work and I escape to the bedroom for a few minutes to just be alone and quiet before serving dinner, washing dishes, giving baths, etc. I’m very happy that I get to stay home with my blessings, but it is wearying.

Leave a Reply

